917.609.0128  //  email Jeff

Jeff Sugg is a New York based artist, designer, and technical advisor. He was a co-founding member of the performance group, Accinosco, with Cynthia Hopkins and Jim Findlay and has co-designed the critically acclaimed Accidental Trilogy: Accidental Nostalgia, Must Don’t Whip ‘Um, and The Success of Failure (or, the Failure of Success). Other theater designs include: Macbeth (Broadway, LCT), A Time To Kill (Broadway), Secondhand Lions (5th Avenue Theatre, Seattle), Bring It On: The Musical (Broadway), 33 Variations (Broadway), The Slugbearers of Kayrol Island (co-set & projections: The Vineyard Theater),¡El Conquistador! (lights: New York Theater Workshop), The Thomashefsky Project & Let Them Eat Cake/Of Thee I Sing (San Francisco Symphony), Trece Días (sets & projections: San Francisco Mime Troupe) He has also worked as designer for multiple works with theater companies including: The Collapsable Giraffe, Pig Iron Theater Company, DASS Dance, Transmission Projects. Music design: Natalie Cole (lights), and Natalie Merchant (lights).

In addition to his work as a designer, Mr. Sugg is regarded as a premiere technical consultant and system designer. Some credits include: The Wooster Group (technical artist), Laurie Anderson (video system design), Richard Foreman (video system design), Mikel Rouse (video system design), GAle GAtes et al. (effects designer/engineer), and The Baseball Music Project (video system design). Mr. Sugg has also taught Media and Technology at Swarthmore College. He has led several workshop/intensive courses in media technology at the University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign), Stanford University’s Atelier program, Rude Mechanicals Theater Company, and others.

For his work on Must Don’t Whip ‘Um, Mr. Sugg received a 2007 Bessie Award and was nominated for a 2007 Hewes Design Award. He was also nominated for a 2007 Hewes Design Award for his work on ¡El Conquistador!.

For his work on The Slug Bearers of Kayrol Island, he received a 2008 Henry Hewes Award, 2008 Obie, and a 2008 Lucille Lortel Award. He was also nominated for a Drama Desk.

Agent:  Charles Kopelman  //  Abrams Artists Agency  //  1-646-486-4600 // email Charles